How you can define the level in Revit Architecture?

Future Gen Technologies providing Revit MEP training to the designers, engineers, contractors, and architectures to get the knowledge on how to convert MEP (mechanical, electrical and plumbing) design intent models to MEP fabrication details.

Posted April 4,2019 in Education.

saketh kumar
12 Followers 20 Views
How you can define the level in Revit Architecture?

When we start to design or 3D modeling of a building for construction, we require some methods to follow for controlling the vertical height of the elements. It may be the floor of the building or its heights or the base as well as the top of columns, the height of the window cill, etc. Here levels come into play. For the creation of the model effectively, it is very much important to understand the use of levels and for the understanding of levels efficiently you need Revit Architecture Training. Taking this into consideration, Future Gen Technologies providing Revit Civil Training to the constructors, contractors, designers, and engineers. Because of the effective training, the training centre is now becoming the Best Revit Architecture Training institute in Ameerpet, Hyderabad. By taking the Revit architecture training in this Revit Architecture Training Institute, the trainers can acquire the knowledge of levels and ensure that the model can readily be adjusted with the minimum of effort.  


In the Revit civil training, you come to know about the heart of the Revit, that is called Levels. To use the Revit efficiently, you should be comfortable with what the levels are and how they can be used.  The easiest and comfortable way to consider about levels is to imagine the levels as infinitely large planes, those are always horizontal and that has a set height in the Y direction. You must have a minimum level.

The Revit architecture training provides the details of the usage of the levels. Anything you want to design, it must have a specific height. Whether that is design for a floor plate or the top of a wall or the underside of a ceiling or the head of a window. Everything needs height. And levels are used for setting the heights of those things.

When you start a new project in the Revit Architecture training institute in Hyderabad, the trainers will say you start using the default Revit template. The trainer will give you two default levels, those have already a view plan. The view plans are named as “level 1” and “level 2”.

If we want to see the elevation view, then we can see the level markers for these level 1 and level 2 levels. The level markers have the level name and its approximate height in the 3D structure.   

Let’s summarise what we will study in the Revit architecture training: -

  • Levels, which are horizontal 2D planes don’t have a boundary, they reside in the 3D model world
  • Levels should have a Name and a Height.
  • The Heights of the model is measured in the Y-axis in the 3D model world
  • You can have as many Levels as you want
  • Levels “may” have a Floor Plan View that is associated with them, but it is not that much necessarily.


In the Revit civil training, you are able to see the 3D model (and 2D details!)  called as views and communicate it’s form as well as the composition to others. In the Revit architecture training, you come to know about many View Types to use. These are: -

  • Floor Plan Views
  • Elevation Views
  • Section Views
  • 3D Views
  • Reflected Ceiling Plan Views
  • Drafting Views
  • Camera Views

A number of Views are created by default when you are taking Revit civil training in the Revit training institute in Ameerpet, Hyderabad. All these can be seen in the Project Browser.


 Future Gen Technologies:

        5th Floor, Greenhouse Building,

        Beside Aditya Trade Center, Myitrivanam,            

        Ameerpet, Hyderabad, Telangana - 500873

        URL :

        CALL US :  +91 8328253848